My Love Affair with Poland

I never thought I would ever visit Poland let alone twice. Jack surprised me with a weekend away in Krakow as a belated birthday present. I fell in love with Poland the moment I stepped of the train and onto the platform in Warsaw back in July 2016. I love everything about Poland.

March 2017, the only differences about this visit was the weather and the fact we had money. The first time we came to Poland Brexit had just hit and the pound was really weak against the Polish Zloty, so everything was super cheap. We found Krakow to be slightly more expensive this time around but in comparison to London prices we were living like Kings.

Accomodation

Lou-Lou-Apart-Krakow-996305

1st shout out has to be to our amazing Air Bnb in the centre of the city, Lou Lou Apart. Great place to stay if you are on a budget yet still want to stay somewhere really nice. Jack and I are used to staying in hostels so this was a real treat for us. For 3 nights for 2 people it was around £100.

Best place to eat 


ED RED – as most people will know I LOVE steak, it’s always on my mind. So before travelling to krakow I did some research on tripadvisor and up popped Ed Red. The reviews said they served the best tasting steak and you wouldn’t find anything quite like it in the UK.. they were more than right. I don’t think I will ever in my life taste a steak that amazing again, thinking about it now is making me hungry! If you are a steak lover please don’t miss it.

Auschwitz 


One of the main reasons for coming back to Krakow was to visit Auschwitz. When we first came to krakow Auschwitz was closed for visitors, I was gutted. Although not the nicest of places to visit on holiday it’s a must, the holocaust is a huge part of our European history. We booked our trip online before we travelled and was taken round by a guide, there was 8 of us in a group. This was probably the smallest group size that we saw as the others were coach loads. We paid around £30 each and it was worth every penny, an incredible reminder of how cruel humanity can be. 


I don’t think I could rave anymore about Poland and the special place is has in my heart. I want to see a lot more of it and I know this is only the beginning. 

Leave a Reply

